As the number of new coronavirus cases surged in many areas of the United States, New York, New Jersey and Connecticut – once at the epicenter of the outbreak – will require visitors from states with high infection rates to quarantine on arrival. The announcement on Wednesday came a day after the country recorded the second-largest increase in novel coronavirus cases since the health crisis began in early March. There were nearly 36,000 new infections nationwide on Tuesday, according to a Reuters tally. States subject to the 14-day quarantine are Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Texas, Washington and Utah, New York Governor Andrew Cuomo said at a briefing. “This is a smart thing to do,” New Jersey Governor Phil Murphy said via video at a joint news conference in New York City. “We have taken our people, the three of us from […]